點石成啤: Greg Koch

點石成啤: Greg Koch
Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Greg Koch性格率直,是精釀風潮的領軍人物,於1996年選址加州聖地牙哥北部的聖馬科斯(San Marcos)開設Stone Brewing。Stone對味道有鍥而不捨的追求,不但是西岸風格IPA的先驅,亦不斷為啤壇帶來驚世佳釀。酒廠自創立以來發展迅速,逐漸成為國際巨頭,並於2005年遷往埃斯康迪多(Escondido)至今。
2016年,Stone 在德國柏林及美國弗州列治文建設廠房,同時由Greg出任公司執行主席,而新任行政總裁則由Dominic Engels擔任。最近Greg旋風式訪港到Second Draft慶祝品牌成立20週年。小編就事先跟他見面,大談Stone崛起的發展歷程。


go 你上次來香港是30年前,當時印象如何?

又熱又潮濕!第一次到訪是82年8月,之後就是87年農曆新年期間,記得當時滿街都是商店招牌和電線,如同走入眼花撩亂的3D世界之中。

follow link 請簡介一下Stone Brewing。

精釀酒廠Stone於1996年在聖地牙哥誕生,由我與原釀酒師Steve Wagner共同創辦。當時「精釀啤酒」雖然已經存在,但卻鮮為人知,不如現今般普及。以今時今日的標準來說,當年的啤酒口味比較溫和,而大多酒吧只會釀造愛爾蘭式黑啤、英式淡啤或美式/巴伐利亞小麥啤,風格上較為墨守成規。
我們下定決心,以風格更鮮明、酒花味更濃、酒精度更高的啤酒為目標。不論過去或現在,我都經常走入不同的啤酒吧向釀酒師介紹自己,當見到店內的常見酒款,我的開場白通常是「不要再試了!希望你試試這種獨特的限量啤酒…」 我心想:與其因為「約定俗成」而釀酒,不如釀製令自己引以為傲的啤酒──這亦成為了Stone 的經營方針。

enter 最後你開設分銷公司,號召Stone與其他理念一致的酒廠。

我們自產自銷,實在是無可奈何,因為根本無批發商有興趣。大約一年多,我們的小小董事會(包括地產商、我的父親、Steve)終於向我施壓:「Greg,是時候跟本地批發商聯絡一下,我們的資金快耗光了。」每月只得2至3萬,完全不能經營下去。雖然「損手爛腳」,但能夠銷售自己釀造的啤酒,令我十分自豪。
正當大品牌的批發商紛紛耍手擰頭,3月時竟出現奇蹟,就是聖地牙哥的自銷業務首次實現收支平衡。幾年後,Stone的自銷業務不再虧錢,並掌握到儲存啤酒的方式,更成為唯一的冷藏啤酒批發商。或許我們可找一些欠缺分銷渠道的酒廠,洽談合作機會。這一切就是Stone Distributing的誕生過程。

近來業界瞬息萬變,Stone會如何迎合有關轉變?

全球生產歷史最悠久的西岸風格IPA和雙料IPA,非Stone主打的Stone IPA及Ruination IPA莫屬。當每間酒廠都釀製相同酒款,考驗就來了。以香港為例,應該至少有一間釀酒商會釀造西岸風格IPA。至於Stone的任務,是繼續鞏固客人對我們啤酒的信心、秉持最初的理念、確保啤酒送到當地時仍能保持質量,並創造出更多特色啤酒引起大家的興趣。
我跟大家同樣是啤酒愛好者,只不過「酒齡」比較老,所以我自然能掌握大家的喜好。只要是啤迷喜歡的,Stone都會全力去做。

現在大家對西岸風格IPA情有獨鍾,你認為五年後仍會流行嗎?

我敢保證IPA會一樣流行,原因簡單至極──好味,有什麼理由要放棄如此美妙的滋味?打個譬如說,雖然有時新音樂深得我心,但U2的舊專輯《The Joshua Tree》總是百聽不厭,而Stone的目標就是推出一張影響深遠的「專輯」。正宗西岸風格IPA是啤酒界的不朽經典,正如比利時三料啤(Tripel)和巴伐利亞小麥啤一樣,不論新舊世代的酒迷都會愛上。

選酒時向新手建議「入門級精釀啤」──你對此有何意見?

說真的,這是不禮貌的表現,你的意思就像暗示──「你知道啦~我鍾意好野,但你應該唔識欣賞,就比你試下入門啤啦」,似乎看不起對方。雖然個人喜好各有不同,但不應假設對方不懂欣賞。「不如試試呢支?唔鍾意?咁一齊試下第二支啦」──態度正確!
1997年推出的Arrogant Bastard,在精釀啤壇舉足輕重,最近終於自立門戶為Arrogant Brewing。
與我們生產的其他酒款截然不同,Arrogant Bastard Ale個性硬朗,獨一無二,以傲慢的姿態在啤壇獨領風騷。Arrogant Brewing展示出Stone Brewing的另一人格,旗下所有酒款皆是「孤高自傲」的代表。相比之下,Stone作為一家酒廠絕不孤芳自賞,會分銷其他品牌,並於旗下餐廳供應更多Stone以外廠牌的啤酒,另外亦會推出聯乘酒款及參與公益活動,表達對精釀社群的愛。

你聽過關於Stone最好的讚美是什麼?

就是BeerAdvocate及RateBeer網站上的排名評論,因為是非常真實的指標,大家平常在酒吧、餐廳或雜貨店隨便揀選啤酒,飲完後可隨時於網上評分和發表意見。相比之下,一群人在正式場合內品嚐各款啤酒,選出當中之最,確實是有效的品評方式,不過試飲份量少於一安士,未夠深入徹底。此外,Stone曾兩度被BeerAdvocate封為全球最佳酒廠,這是至高無上的讚美,十分感謝。

你認為「精釀啤酒」一詞仍有意義嗎?

「精釀啤酒」對我來說無疑意義重大,但這個詞應該修飾一下,例如加上「獨立」二字,而Stone就是其中之一。某款啤酒是「精釀」與否,我們無法為大家下定論,畢竟每個人見解不同。對於精釀啤酒有何意義及標準,我們會將自己的想法付諸實行,並對自己所走的路堅定不移。

Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Facebook Comments

Carved in Stone: Greg Koch of Stone Brewing

Carved in Stone: Greg Koch of Stone Brewing
Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Outspoken and a major figure of the craft beer movement, Greg Koch co-founded Stone Brewing in 1996 in San Marcos, California, just north of San Diego. Refusing to compromise on taste like so many others did, Stone pioneered the West Coast-style IPA and has consistently brewed in-your-face beers. Growing at an insane pace and becoming a global powerhouse in the process, in 2005 Stone moved to neighbouring Escondido, where it is still headquartered. In 2016, Stone built facilities in Berlin, Germany and Richmond, Virginia, USA, and Greg transitioned into a new role as executive chairman, making way for new CEO Dominic Engels. Recently, Greg visited Hong Kong for a quick stopover at Second Draft to celebrate the brand’s 20th anniversary – and we met up beforehand to get his take on Stone’s meteoric rise.


Your last trip to Hong Kong was 30 years ago. What do you remember about the city then?

Hot and humid! The first trip was August ’82, and then in winter for Chinese New Year in early ’87. I remember all the streets with the signs and wires everywhere, just like this massive three-dimensional thing – total overload.

Briefly, what is Stone Brewing?

Stone is a craft brewery that began in San Diego in 1996; I’m the co-founder with Steve Wagner, my business partner, who was our original brewmaster. We started at a time when craft beer wasn’t really a “thing” – while it was certainly present, it wasn’t widely understood or available to any degree that it is today. The beers of the day were mild by today’s standards, too. Most brewpubs were making Irish-style stout, English-style pale ale, American or Bavarian-style hefeweizen… not much of a leap, flavour intensity-wise.
We quickly moved into the territory of bigger character, hoppier and stronger. I would go into a brewpub somewhere and introduce myself to the brewer – still do today – and a common statement would be “Don’t try these!” and it would be the first several beers of their line-up. “We just make those because we have to. I want you to try this limited release, this special…” So I said to myself, “What if we don’t make any beers ‘because we have to’ and we only make beers we’re personally proud of?” And that was the business model that we followed.

Eventually you started a distribution arm for Stone and other like-minded breweries.

Our self-distribution came out of necessity, because no wholesaler was interested. A little over a year in, I finally capitulated to our very small board, which included the real estate guy, my father, Steve… They said “Okay, Greg, you gotta go talk to the local wholesalers because we’re bleeding money.” To the tune of $20,000 to $30,000 a month – completely unsustainable. I was very proud of our self-distribution; even though it was bleeding us dry, it was us representing our beer in the way we knew it should.
The big-brand wholesalers all said no. But magically, March came around and we had our first break-even month, just from self-distributing in San Diego. We didn’t see it coming! So, fast-forward a couple of years – we aren’t losing money self-distributing, we feel we know how to store our beers, we’re the only refrigerated wholesaler… maybe we should talk to other breweries we really respect who also can’t get distribution and see if we can work together. Thus, Stone Distributing was born.

These days, it seems like the industry is moving so quickly. How do you plan to keep Stone relevant in a changing landscape?

It’s a challenge when your primary stock in trade – Stone IPA and Ruination IPA being the longest full-time production West Coast-style IPA and double IPA on the planet – becomes everyone else’s. I can find at least one Hong Kong brewer making a West Coast-style IPA, right? What we need to do at Stone is continue to make sure people know that they can trust our beers, that they can respect our ethos and ideals, that our beer is stored to ensure quality when it gets to their local market, and that we create beers to capture their imagination.
And we just have to look in the mirror for that. We are beer geeks. I am a beer geek. I was a beer geek before you guys – with the exception of that one guy going “Nuh-uh!” [laughing] The things I like as a beer geek are the things that I want us to do at Stone.

People are still crazy for West Coast-style IPAs. Will that continue to be the case in five years’ time?

I’m certain that IPAs will be every bit as popular – why? One very simple reason: they’re delicious. At what point are we going to suddenly stop liking something so delicious? It’s in the same way that, while it’s great to have new music and I like that too, [U2’s] The Joshua Tree is always going to be an incredible album. The goal at Stone has always been to create our seminal album, if you will. And I think a really amazingly brewed West Coast-style IPA is something seminal that won’t go away, just like Belgian-style tripels, Bavarian-style hefeweizens – this is a world-classic style that will be a favourite amongst beer drinkers for generations.

What do you think about “gateway beers” for new craft beer drinkers?

Really, I think it’s rude to give somebody a gateway beer, because essentially what you’re saying is, “You know, I like the good stuff, but I don’t think you have good enough taste and you can’t handle it.” Why??? I prefer to treat you like you’ve got great taste, realising you may not like all the same things I do. “Let’s try this one – you love it? Great. You don’t? Okay, let’s try another one!”
Unleashed in 1997, Arrogant Bastard is one of the iconic brews of the craft beer movement – it recently got its own company, Arrogant Brewing.
Arrogant Bastard Ale has always had such a strong, unique personality, which isn’t necessarily reflective of the rest of the beers we produce. At some point it just puffed up its chest and said, “I want my own show.” Arrogant Brewing is the alter-ego of Stone Brewing; there’s a little bit of a Jekyll/Hyde thing. Everything under there can continue to fly its arrogant flag. I’d argue that, as a brewery and as a company, Stone is far from arrogant – we distribute other brands of beer, we have more guest taps than our own beers at our restaurant, we do tons of collaborations, our charity connectedness… we love being a part of this craft brewing community.

What’s the greatest compliment you’ve ever received about Stone?

The BeerAdvocate and RateBeer rankings – and it’s because they’re the real world. Nobody sat in a controlled environment with little tasters – which is a fantastic and super-valid way to judge beer, but what you’re doing is judging the best beer to have less than one ounce of. “This is how I feel and this is the rating I’m gonna give when I’m just buying beer randomly at a pub, a restaurant, a grocery store” – and to be named by BeerAdvocate as the All-Time Top-Rated Brewery on Planet Earth twice… that’s a hell of a compliment – thank you!

Does the term “craft beer” still have any meaning?

In today’s world, does “craft beer” mean something to me? Unquestionably it does. But I think there may be the necessity to add some modifiers such as “independent craft brewery”, which we are. Ultimately we aren’t going to tell people what to think, or what is and what isn’t – it’s always going to be in the eye of the beholder. I know what it means to me, and it’s those ideals and standards that are our guiding principles. Our definition is how we know we’re on the right path – and it’s been the same path all along.

Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Facebook Comments