反叛萬歲: James Watt

反叛萬歲: James Watt
Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

由最初「兩男一狗」的組合,進化成擁有750位員工的國際知名精釀啤酒品牌──BrewDog創立於2007年,以大膽叛逆作風見稱,其「Equity For Punks」認股集資計劃更有多達50,000人參與。BrewDog以蘇格蘭為基地,由James Watt與Martin Dickie攜手打造。今年十月,二人因為Elvis Juice IPA產品名稱的訴訟風波,而將自己的名字改為「Elvis」以示抗議。踏入十週年,品牌計劃於英國亞伯丁總部舉行盛大慶祝活動與8,000人同樂。今次小編邀請到最近訪港的James(喔…應該叫Elvis嗎?)到BrewDog Hong Kong斟一斟。

現在應該稱呼你為「Elvis」嗎?

暫時是吧,因為嫲嫲逼我改回原名(哈哈哈…),所以訴訟結果出來之前,可能會改回James,又可能不會吧。總之現在全名就是Elvis “Captain” Watt ,而Martin 就改為Elvis “Duke” Dickie。

之前有遇過其他法律糾紛嗎?

其實也不少,無所謂吧,反正我們向來我行我素,從不介意別人的看法,亦不會死守舊有一套,只會做自己喜歡的事,追求最完美的結果。我們喜歡兵行險著,坦蕩蕩做事,釀釀酒,玩玩樂。

試用四個字來形容自己,並告訴大家BrewDog如何誕生。

我會用「Beer-loving sea dog」形容自己。(譯者按:「sea dog」即是資深的水手)正式創業前,我是一艘北大西洋漁船的船長,生活於一月時尤其艱苦,難以謀生。期間我偶然發現Sierra Nevada Pale Ale,嚐過第一口後心想「什麼鬼味道」,再來一口,竟然深深愛上。我們集齊自釀工具,嘗試自行釀製這款啤酒,經過十次左右才成功製造出能夠「入口」的啤酒。

2006年有幸與星級啤酒專家Michael Jackson見面,當時我們把在車庫用50升酒桶釀造的黑啤送給他品嚐,得到的回應是「快辭職,專心釀酒吧」。大師既然這樣說,我們就照做吧。當時我們只得24歲,向銀行借了20,000英鎊,自己也存下差不多的積蓄。另外亦得到一些二手不銹鋼容器,由自己親手組裝。由於資金不足,所用的水箱是從園藝中心收集得來的膠箱。基本上所有事都是憑感覺,一手一腳去做,毫無章法可言。

首款啤酒於2007年推出,當初二人立下目標,希望其他人跟自己一樣,對精釀好啤充滿熱情,至今BrewDog仍堅守這個目標。兩個人、一隻狗,加上一堆舊雜物──感覺就像昨天發生的情景一樣。

你的釀酒風格相當破格,當中有什麼得意之作?

我們曾經在北大西洋深處發酵啤酒,又試過在NASCAR賽車場,登上時速超過100英里的車上釀酒。至於比較突出的酒款,必定是酒精濃度超高的Tactical Nuclear Penguin及Sink the Bismarck。當然不得不提The End of History──酒精度高達55%,更以真實的動物標本作包裝。我們期望藉此打破大眾的既有想法,並傳達一個訊息:啤酒沒有特定形式,不一定是大量生產,並非一定是杯「淡黃色的有泡液體」。

最近我們與斯堪的那維亞酒廠Omnipollo合釀一系列啤酒 ,包括釀製中的Raspberry Smoothie IPA。另外亦在酒廠對面建設新酸啤廠,利用地下設施輸送酒汁,並添置巨大木桶等配套。

多年來你們的推銷方式噱頭十足,似乎大受矚目。

我們做出很多瘋狂行徑,例如在倫敦商業街上駕駛坦克、於直升機上向英格蘭銀行投擲「肥貓」…有人喜歡,有人反感,不過做生意就是要設法引人注目。可能那些反感的人,覺得精釀啤酒應該只屬於「小眾」,情況就如:你很喜歡一支樂隊,但愈來愈多人喜歡的時候,就漸漸失去了興趣。我們不會介意別人的想法,只要自己享受釀製啤酒的過程及樂趣就足夠了。如果你不夠突出,就沒有人討厭你,更遑論有人會愛上你。

BrewDog會在亞洲如何發展?

日本是BrewDog的首要市場之一。平時根本忙過不停,所以只要是我們想去的地方,BrewDog就會將啤酒出口至當地──我想去東京,就在那裡推出啤酒,就是如此簡單!亞洲啤壇開始蓬勃發展,確實令我們又興奮又期待。

請介紹一下你們的著作《Business for Punks》。

書中所提及的經營哲學,完全是誤打誤撞出來的。最初成立之時,對於如何經營、管理員工、分銷啤酒…根本毫無概念。這樣反而更好,既然不知道該怎麼做,倒不如用自己的方式,因時制宜。我們每一步都是兵行險著,但仍要繼續堅持下去。

在龐克文化之中,我們認為最重要的一點是「DIY」精神:凡事不要依賴任何人,自己的事自己做;若要擊倒體制,先要離開體制。BrewDog以這種龐克精神為本,不受銀行掌控,亦沒有「賣身」給大公司,所推行的認股計劃「Equity For Punks」更成功向50,000人集資──BrewDog正是屬於這些跟我們同樣熱愛啤酒的人。

過去幾年有大量酒廠被收購,你對此有何看法?

在過去四、五十年內,那些超大型國際啤酒商徹底扭曲了啤酒的本質,為迎合普羅大眾,降低味道和口感的標準,貶低啤酒本身的價值。酒商豪擲數十億元登廣告,宣傳他們毫無特色的淡味啤酒,嘗試說服大家「這才是正常的啤酒」,真荒謬。

精釀啤酒的存在,就是為了抗衡大量生產的商業啤酒。不論是品質、客群、風格、味道或原料,兩者完全相反,好比黑武士與小魚仙一樣,毫不相干。

今時今日,你認為「精釀啤酒」這名稱仍有價值嗎?

價值愈來愈低。大家應將重心轉移至「獨立精釀啤酒」,經常有人爭論某啤酒是不是「精釀」,但「獨立」與否就較易分辨。以日本酒商麒麟為例,最近收購了精釀酒廠Brooklyn Brewery的 24.5%股份,剛好符合美國釀酒商協會對「獨立」精釀啤酒之定義。(譯者按:根據協會標準,若某酒廠超過25%股權被其他酒商收購,則不可被稱為「精釀啤酒廠」)──如此巧合,實在令人質疑。我深信,BrewDog絕對稱得上是「獨立」的代表。

啤酒界將會如何發展?

長遠的事,我無法預料。至於所釀的酒款、釀造方法、銷售策略以至善待員工的方式,這一切皆在我們掌握之中,其他就交由市場決定吧。我不在乎酒廠的規模大小,只堅持以正確的方式釀酒,與廣大啤迷分享。船到橋頭自然直,未來五星期要做什麼,我根本毫無頭緒,更何況五年呢?

Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Facebook Comments

Punks Not Dead: James Watt of BrewDog

Punks Not Dead: James Watt of BrewDog
Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Special thanks to BrewDog Hong Kong for providing arrangements and interview venue.

From two men and a dog in 2007 to a globally renowned craft beer brand and an employer of 750 people today – not to mention its crowdfunding army of 50,000 “Equity Punks” – Scotland-based brewery BrewDog has always marched to the beat of its own drum. Founded by James Watt and Martin Dickie (who both legally changed their names to “Elvis” in October in response to a lawsuit over their Elvis Juice IPA), the brand is fast approaching its tenth anniversary, with a huge celebration for 8,000 people planned at its Aberdeen headquarters. On a recent whirlwind visit, James (sorry – Elvis) sat down with us at BrewDog Hong Kong for a pint and a candid chat.


So your name is really Elvis now?

For the moment – but I’m under intense pressure from my grandmother to change it back. [laughing] So pending the outcome of the legal case, it may or may not go back to James, but for the moment I am officially an Elvis – Elvis “Captain” Watt. Martin went for Elvis “Duke” Dickie.


Have you had other legal challenges like that in the past?

Quite a few. We don’t mind too much; we stick to our guns. As a company, we’ve never given a damn what anyone thinks or what we’re “supposed” to do – we just like to do our own thing and hope it works out for the best. We like to take a few risks, wear our hearts on our sleeves, make some beer and have some fun.

Introduce yourself in four words – and tell us how BrewDog got started.

Beer-loving sea dog. [laughing] Before I started the business, I was captain of a North Atlantic fishing boat – the North Atlantic in January is a tough place to making a living. During that time, I discovered Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. My first sip, I was like, “What the hell’s this?” and then my second sip, I just completely fell in love. That was the beer that we attempted to make at home; we got homebrew kits and it was about ten batches before we made anything drinkable.

In 2006, we got to meet Michael Jackson, the legendary beer expert. We let him try a stout we made in our garage on our 50-litre kit – he tasted it and told us to quit our jobs and start making beer. So we thought fuck it, if Michael Jackson is saying that to us, let’s do it! We were 24 years old, got a £20,000 bank loan and had about the same in savings. We got some second-hand stainless steel tanks and cobbled it together ourselves. Our water tanks were actually plastic tanks from the local garden centre because we had no money at all – this was ramshackle DIY [do-it-yourself], seat-of-the-pants, bootlegged-together stuff.

We made our first beer in 2007. Our mission when we set out – still our biggest mission today – is to make other people as passionate about fantastic beer as we are. It feels like yesterday that it was two humans, one dog and a cobbled-together pile of old junk!

The beers you brew often push the envelope, to put it mildly. Any standouts?

We’ve made beers at the bottom of the North Atlantic Ocean, on a NASCAR speedway doing over 100 miles an hour… Some of our standout beers that we’ve made have to be our really strong beers: Tactical Nuclear Penguin, Sink the Bismarck and of course The End of History, a 55% beer packaged in taxidermy. That last beer was very much designed to broaden people’s horizons and shock people into thinking in a different way – that beer doesn’t have to be a light, mass-market industrial fizzy lager served in a pint glass.
Recently, we’ve done a couple of collaborations with Omnipollo from Scandinavia – we’ve actually got a Raspberry Smoothie IPA in our tanks at the moment. We’re also building a sour beer facility just across the street and pumping the wort under the road, with foeders and all that.

You’re quite notorious for all the edgy marketing stunts over the years.

Driving a tank through the High Streets of London, throwing stuffed cats out of a helicopter over the Bank of England… all these crazy things we’ve done, some people like them and some don’t, but this is a business and we’ve got to raise awareness. And I think the people that don’t like it are those who think craft beer should be this tiny club – like when everyone loves a band until they get too big and then they don’t like them anymore. We’ve got a blissful disregard as to what people think; as long as we love the beers we’re making and having fun, we’re pretty happy. If you don’t get people to dislike you, then you won’t get people to passionately fall in love with you, either.

How do you see Asia developing for BrewDog?

Japan was one of our first markets. Our initial export strategy, because we couldn’t get any time off, was to send beer to places we wanted to visit – and it was as simple as that! [laughs] Like, “I want to go to Tokyo! Let’s send beer and take it from there!” But I think Asia is a truly exciting beer scene – it’s definitely in its emergence and we’re excited to be part of that wave.


Tell us about your book Business for Punks.

Well, we almost fell into the philosophy I outline in Business for Punks accidentally. When we set up, we had no idea how to run a business, how to manage people, how to distribute beer, any of those things… That worked in our favour because we didn’t know how things were meant to be done, so we just did them in our own way and on our own terms. Everything was on the line for us, so we had no option but to make it work.

The biggest thing we took from punk was that deeply ingrained DIY ethos – being reluctant to depend on anyone for anything, learning the skills we need to do things ourselves. You can only defeat the system if you can live outside the system – that’s the punk influence on our business. We took independent bank finance; we didn’t sell out to a bigger company. We’ve got a community of 50,000 “Equity Punks” – so we’re owned by people who love the beer as much as we do, which means we don’t have to compromise.

We’ve seen a spate of brewery sellouts in the past couple years. What do you think about that?

The mega-international global beer corporations over the last 40 to 50 years have destroyed the very essence of beer. They’ve turned something amazing into a lowest-common-denominator commodity by taking the taste, the flavour, the value out of the experience. They’ve dumbed it down and spent billions of dollars on advertising trying to convince people that this insipid fallacy is what beer actually should be.
Craft beer started as a revolt against everything that mass-market industrial beer stood for – it’s a complete antithesis, focused on the quality, the people, the beer, the flavour, the ingredients… Those two things are just so, so opposed. It’s like Darth Vader adopting the Little Mermaid – they’re that far apart from an ideological perspective.

Do you think the term “craft beer” is still worthwhile today?

Less and less. For me, where we should shift our focus is towards “independent craft beer” – you have all these arguments about what’s craft or not, whereas independence is black or white. We see things like the Brooklyn-Kirin deal, where they bought a stake of 24.5% just to stay under the Brewers’ Association definition in the US of 25%, which is as cynical as it is ill-conceived. Independence has got to be where companies like ours hang our hats.

Where do you see things heading in the beer scene?

Longer term, I’ve got no idea. We get to decide the beers we make, how we make and sell them, and how we treat our staff – everything else is up to the market. As long as we’re making beers in the right way and focusing on our people, I don’t care what size we are. Wherever we get is where we’re supposed to be. I barely know what I’m going to do in five weeks’ time, let alone five years!

Share this:
FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedInWhatsAppEmail

Facebook Comments